Data Transfer of Controllership FAQ

Please note: this information only pertains to members who have their country in their account set to Netherlands or Colombia

 

What’s happening?

 

If you’re reading this, it’s because you may have seen a pop-up in our apps notifying you about a process we have initiated to transfer the controllership of your personal data or risk the deletion of it. Not to worry! We’re here to clarify everything you need to know in order to keep you informed about what’s happening with your personal data and make sure you can continue to use our apps as seamlessly as possible.

What’s the transfer of data controllership?

 

As mentioned in the pop-up, adidas Runtastic has been a proud member of the adidas family since 2015, but we’re currently moving even closer to our parent company. In order to do that, we are changing the entity that provides the sports apps to you as a user. Here’s the legal breakdown: 

 

  • On March 9, 2022, we began to provide our sports apps as a feature/benefit of adiClub Membership through adidas. This change was rolled out in March, but the actual date may vary depending on the country in which you reside.

  • All of your sports app activity data collected since March 9, 2022, is currently being processed under the responsibility of adidas and according to the adiClub Privacy Notice.

 

  • The personal data collected under your previous contract with Runtastic (which will end on December 1, 2022) and processed according to the Runtastic Privacy Notice is still available in the apps at this point in time. We need your authorization to

    • transfer this data under your adiClub Membership, i.e. to further process it under controllership of adidas and according to the membership Privacy Notice

    • merge it with your adidas data (if available).

  • If you provide authorization by accepting the data transfer, you will continue to be able to access the historical data in our apps. If you do not provide authorization, that data will be deleted permanently on December 1, 2022. 

 

 

  • If you have purchased a Premium Membership, your paid Premium Membership will still be provided by Runtastic.

Why is this happening now? 

 

This transition will allow us to provide you with a better experience across the entire adidas digital universe. It will also allow us to continue to work toward tailoring experiences specific to your individual interests as an athlete and deliver on the feedback from our amazing community. 

 

What data would I lose?

 

If the opt-in is declined, all personal data present on your account that was recorded before March 9, 2022, will be deleted on December 1, 2022. It will not be possible to recover this data once it has been deleted.

 

This includes (but is not limited to):

 

  • Activities
  • Followers
  • Challenge joins and contributions
  • Newsfeed entries
  • Goals

 

Data recorded after March 9, 2022, will still be present within your account.

 

If I don’t opt in, will my entire account be deleted?

 

No, you will still be able to log in to your account after the data deletion takes place. However, any data/progress/activities recorded before March 9, 2022, will no longer be available.

 

How do I opt in?

 

This part is easy! Once you see the pop-up message in the app, you simply need to tap on the button labeled ‘Transfer data.’ Once done, there is no further action required on your part, and all your activities and progress will remain as they always have.

 

If you declined already: no need to worry! You will see reminders in the app over the coming weeks, which will allow you to opt in once more. There will be plenty of opportunities to transfer your personal data right up until the date of deletion on December 1, 2022. After the pop-up message is shown, you can always review this information via the ‘Bell’ icon in the Feed tab.

 

Once I’ve opted in, what’s next?

 

That’s it! Once you’ve confirmed that you’ve accepted this transfer, there is no need for any further action on your part whatsoever. We at adidas Runtastic will handle the rest from here on out and ensure that you can continue enjoying all that our apps have to offer!

 

Can I still save my data if I choose not to opt in?


Yes, you can export your data ahead of time in order to save it before the deletion takes place. More information on how to do this can be found here. If you choose, you can also import your data back into the apps at a later point in time.

Submit request